Technologies

A STARTING POINT :

« Since I throw my ears into the high-fidelity world, I had to revise, while listening to all kinds of specialists, all the basics concepts I learned in my electronic classes. All these simples notions of Watt, impedance, resistance, etc… were linked with so many subjective values, so many misusage, that even the officials laboratories start to be lost.

So I wished, only to clean up my brain, to look back closer to all these fundamentals concepts and share with you all my discoveries.

In the generalist electronic and loudspeakers books, in the shops, the poor buyer faces so much contradictive notions about systems power. Let’s check back the usual terms used in our domain and give them their real value, and usage. »

Guy Le Cornec

 

TECHNICAL TERMS.

Frequency, or pulse per second, is measured in hertz (Hz). The audible frequency bandwidth is, theoretically, for a human being from 20 to 20 000 Hz. The ear sensitivity, as much in level as in frequencies, diminishes with age.

The sound pressure level unit is dBspl. Its zero level is defined at the human audibility threshold:
2.10-5 Pascals. It uses logarithmic scale, as all decibel scales.
The dB(A) unit derivate from the dBspl scale, with a frequency-dependent weighting.

 

Comparative table of the noise levels in dB(A)

ACOUSTIC PRESSURE Pascal (Pa) SOUND LEVEL PRESSURE
dB (A)
SOUND FEELING NATURE OF THE NOISE
SUBJECTIVE IMPRESSION
< 2 .10-5 < 0 Umperceivable Anechoid room
2 .10-5 0 Audibility threshold Audiometry test
6,3 .10-5 10 Silence Recording studio
2 .10-4 20 Very calm Sailing ship, garden, cave
6,3 .10-4 30 Calm Bedroom, low voice
2 . 10-3 40 Calm Calm office or apartment calm voice
6,3 . 10-3 50 Moderate Noisy office or apartment calms, normal voice
2 . 10-2 60 Bearable Apartment with television, strong voice
6,3 . 10-2 70 Noisy Pedestrian street
2 . 10-1 80 Painful Train station, workshops
6,3 . 10-1 90 Lesions if 8H/day Mechanics, weaving
2 100 Much intense Press, motor bikes, machining
6,3 110 Unbearable Riveter, hammer rammer
20 120 Deafening No conversation, club, concert
63 130 Deafening Plane engine
Threshold of pain, disturb, deafness

The efficiency is the relationship between the generated energy and the energy received by the device. In our case, between the electrical power delivered by the amplifier and the acoustic power generated by the driver. We should notice that our hearing is not acoustic power sensitive, but acoustic pressure sensitive. In addition, at constant acoustic power, acoustic pressure increases if radiation angle decrease. So this data is hardly linked with subjective feelings.

The sensitivity is the sound pressure level delivered by the driver at one point of space, normally at 1 m on its normal axis, for a specified voltage (normally 2,83Vrms for a speaker of the normalized 8 ohms impedance). This measurement is usually given in half space radiation angle (2pi steroidal, or visually: half of a sphere).

The frequency response is the graphic curve of the driver sensitivity at each frequency. It’s normally measured from 20 to 20 000 Hz, for a 2,83V signal at 1m on driver axis. It should be smooth, progressive, without dips or bumps, neither steps. It’s an important characteristic of a loudspeaker.

Power. It’s the major misused term in our domain… There are two calculations of power which may interest us.
– The root main square power (in Wrms) delivered by an amplifier. The audio amplifiers are tension generator, then the power is calculated depending on the load in which the power is dissipated: lower is the load, more the amplifier is powerful, because it delivers more current (P = U x I). This is true until the power supply voltage drops, or the output stage components burn out suffering of overcurrent.
– The electric power handling of a driver, in Waes. It’s only the amount of power a driver may receive without being broken: either by ungluing the coil from its former, or by burning the wire enamel. It’s a thermal limit. A powerful driver is not better sounding, it’s only harder to break… a truck tire under 8,2 bars pressure is not more precise than a motorbike tire under 2 bars. This power unit is Watt AES, because the measurement conditions are precisely defined in a norm, the AES2-1984 (r2003) norm.
Old DIN and IEC norms are not used anymore. All the peak, pulse, music, average, peak music… power units are meaningless.

The maximum acoustic level, or dBspl Max, it’s only due to the volume of air moved at a specific frequency. This volume depends on the cone surface (Sd) and the coil maximum displacement Xmax of the driver. A large 8’’ full range speaker with 2mm Xmax will generate more acoustic pressure, so will be louder, than a 5’’ bass driver with a 5mm Xmax.

The displacement limit Xmax is the positive, or negative, ideally symmetric, displacement the coil may reach within field gap before the distortion, caused by the drop of Bl factor, reach 10%. The researchs of Dr Klippel shown it corresponds to 18% drop of Bl. Our Xmax are defined through this criteria, eventually leading to an Xmax greater than physical X, which is a simple substraction of coil height from field gap depth.

Loudspeaker distortion is due to its nonlinear behaviors: motor strength Bl, coil inductance Le, surround and spider compliance Cms are not perfects, even sometimes asymmetric, depending on the current (i) flowing thru the coil, and coil position (x) in the field gap. All this demands a careful design of each constitutive parts of a loudspeaker.
At equal conditions, distortion increase with coil elongation. Indeed, at equal elongation, a well-crafted driver distorts less.

 

A BIT FORWARD…

 

The full range concept. Nowadays majority of loudspeakers use a multi-way configuration, passive filters dispatch frequencies between different specialized drivers. These filters have, already in theory, many limitations, multiplied by the non-linearity of actuals components.

In History the first driver was used as a full-range: without filter, in despite it was rather a midrange driver, as it was a voice transmitter.

As broadcast develop, loudspeakers improved their neutrality and broaden their bandwidth.

Only later, when high acoustic level demand increased, loudspeakers became frequency band dedicated. Technical solution constrains by a full range design, are not responding to Hell Fest live show needs.

In domestic conditions, a high quality full range driver will benefit from the absence of filter.

It’s a know-how Supravox has kept, transmit and perpetuate.

Full paper driver cone. At Supravox we only use full paper cone in our full-range drivers, from the coil bond to the surround. So it was since the first electro-dynamic loudspeaker patent.

By its homogeneous, but random, orientation of cellulosic fibers within its structure, the paper cone brings great rigidity/damping ratio through all the bandwidth. The accurate design of a cone, its profile, its thickness, will define its frequency response: broad and clean. The paper pulp formula will define the loudspeaker neutrality. Specific treatment of the paper surround allows us to control frequency response and sound.

We use the same exponential cone, from the same molds, and the same paper pulp since M. Liebert development around full range drivers during the 40’s.

Our drivers may use dust cap or bicone. Extremely rigid dust cap, treated for this purpose, directly glued onto the coil former will extend the driver frequency response beyond 12-15kHz. Bicone, through its shape and surface acts as a second driver cone, will already regenerate much energy from 4 kHz.

The choice is made during the careful design and optimization of each loudspeaker.

 

Which magnet ? A magnet, whatever the technology, is first of all a permanent magnetic energy source. Anyway, as any earth material, nothing is perfect. Each magnet is defined by four main behavior:

– Its magnetic remanence, its capacity to maintain persistant field strength.
– Its coercivity, which is its capacity to resist external demagnetizing forces.
– Its maximal usage temperature.
– Its temperature rate, or the reversible field strength loss with temperature increase.

Sadly none of the magnets is perfect in all these aspects, and cost is also a criteria.

Ferrite magnet is the cheapest, with good remanence, high coercivity, comfortable usage temperature of 225°C, but the worst temperature loss.

Neodymium is expensive, with very high remanence and coercivity, good temperature coefficient, but low usage temperature of 80°C for standards grade.

Alnico, one of the oldest magnet formula with its Ticonal cousin, offer high remanence, almost perfect temperature ratio, very high usage temperature of 450°C, but low coercivity for old and usual grades. It’s a very good, and expensive, magnet which needs careful design of the magnet assembly to exploit its qualities.

Another magnetic energy source is field coil. In this configuration the magnet is replaced by a large coil, which create a magnetic field proportional to the current flowing through it, it’s called: induction. If the power supply is a current source, then the field in the field gap is invariant.

Acoustic level, efficiency and power. We seen that the acoustic pressure is only function of driver cone displacement multiplied by its surface. We also noticed that a high sensitivity loudspeaker needs less power for the same sound power.
However, the power dissipated in the coil increases its resistance in proportion to the increase of its temperature, it diminishes the efficiency of the driver by reducing the current flowing through the coil, as the amplifier is a voltage source i=U/Re. We call this phenomena: thermal compression.
Moreover, more power means more components within the electronic path, more thermal dissipation through them, so more electronic and thermal non-linearity, and then more distortions. If we need fewer watts, we may use simpler circuitry; even class A schematic, more linear, with lower distortion and renowned musicality.

We understand that higher sensitivity indirectly induce lower distortions in real listening conditions, even in the associated electronic stages.

CONCLUSIONS

From this screed you should retain three essential notions regarding the choice of your loudspeakers:

– The power handling of a loudspeaker reveals nothing of its qualities.
– The subjective qualities of a driver are intimately linked to the profile and paper pulp of the cone. It’s a rare and precious know-how.
– High sensitivity driver let us use a low power amplifier, either tube or solid-state, intrinsically more linear and therefore more musical.

Technologies

Termes techniques

QUELQUES NOTIONS DE BASE :

« Depuis que j’ai mis l’oreille dans le monde de la haute-fidélité, j’ai dû revoir, à l’écoute des spécialistes de tout poil, toutes les notions de base que j’avais acquises tout bêtement à l’école d’électronique. Toutes ces données simples de Watt, d’impédance, de résistance, etc… se doublaient de telles notions subjectives, d’un tel tripotage d’utilisation que, et je l’ai vérifié depuis, même les labos officiels commencent à y perdre leur latin.

Aussi j’ai eu envie, juste pour me nettoyer les neurones, de réviser d’un peu plus près toutes ces notions fondamentales et de vous faire partager mes redécouvertes.

Dans les livres de vulgarisation, dans les boutiques, le malheureux consommateur se trouve souvent face à des quantités de données contradictoires concernant la puissance des systèmes. Reprenons donc les termes usuels utilisés dans ce domaine et redonnons-leur une juste place et surtout une juste réalité. »

Guy Le Cornec

 

EN SAVOIR PLUS SUR…

La fréquence, ou pulsation par seconde, est exprimée en hertz (Hz). La bande de fréquences audible par un être humain est, en théorie, de 20 à 20 000 Hz. La sensibilité de l’oreille, tant en pression qu’en fréquences, diminue avec l’âge.

 

Le dBspl est l’unité de mesure de la pression sonore. Son niveau zéro est établi au seuil d’audibilité de l’oreille humaine : 2.10 -5 Pascals. C’est une unité à progression logarithmique, comme toute échelle en décibels.

 

Le dB(A) est une échelle de mesure en dBspl pondérée en fonction de la fréquence.

 

Tableau comparatif en valeurs des niveaux sonores en dB(A)

PRESSION ACOUSTIQUE Pascal (Pa) NIVEAU DE PRESSION SONORE dB (A) SENSATION SONORE NATURE DES BRUITS
IMPRESSION SUBJECTIVE
< 2 .10 -5 < 0 Imperceptible Chambre sourde
2 .10 -5 0 Seuil d’audibilité Test d’audiométrie
6,3 .10 -5 10 Silencieux Studio d’enregistrement
2 .10 -4 20 Très calme Voilier, jardin, grotte
6,3 .10 -4 30 Calme Chambre à coucher, voix basse
2 . 10 -3 40 Calme Bureau ou appart. Calme voix normale
6,3 . 10 -3 50 Modéré Bureau ou appart. bruyant voix normale
2 . 10 -2 60 Supportable Appart + télé, voix forte
6,3 . 10 -2 70 Bruyant, fort Rue passagère
2 . 10 -1 80 Fort, pénible Gare, ateliers
6,3 . 10 -1 90 Lésions si 8H/jour Mécanique, tissage
2 100 Très intense Presse, motos, décolletage
6,3 110 Insupportable Riveteuse, marteau pilon
20 120 Assourdissant Pas de conversation, discothèque, concert
63 130 Seuil de douleur, Réacteur
troubles, surdité

 

Le rendement est le rapport entre l’énergie apportée et l’énergie restituée. Dans notre cas, le rapport entre la puissance électrique fournie par l’amplificateur et la puissance acoustique délivrée par le haut-parleur. Mais il faut savoir que notre oreille n’est pas sensible à la puissance acoustique, mais à la pression. Hors à puissance acoustique égale, la pression augmente avec la diminution de l’angle de rayonnement. C’est donc une donnée qui est difficile à recouper avec le ressenti auditif.

 

La sensibilité est le niveau de pression acoustique délivré par un haut-parleur en un point donné de l’espace, normalement à 1m dans l’axe de rayonnement maximal, pour une tension d’alimentation donnée (normalement 2,83Veff pour un haut-parleur entrant dans la catégorie, encore une fois normalisée, d’impédance 8 ohms). Cette mesure est normalement donné pour un rayonnement en demi-espace (2pi stéradian, plus visuellement : une demisphère).

 

La réponse en fréquences est la représentation graphique de la sensibilité du hautparleur à toutes les fréquences. Elle est normalement établie de 20 à 20 000 Hz, pour un signal de 2,83V à 1m dans l’axe. Elle doit être « lisse » et progressive, ne pas présenter de creux ou bosses étroits, ni de « marche ».
C’est une caractéristique essentielle d’un haut-parleur.

 

La puissance, Le terme le plus galvaudé dans notre métier… Il y a deux calculs de puissances qui peuvent nous intéresser.

– La puissance efficace (ou RMS) délivrée par un amplificateur. Les amplificateurs audio sont des générateurs de tension, la puissance est donc calculée en fonction de la charge dans laquelle ils dissipent : plus l’impédance est faible, plus l’amplificateur est puissant, car il délivre plus de courant (P = U x I). Ceci jusqu’à ce que la tension d’alimentation chute, ou que les composants de l’étage de sortie demandent grâce au courant qui les traverse.

– La puissance électrique admissible d’un haut-parleur en Watts AES. Elle n’est que l’expression de la capacité d’un haut-parleur à absorber une puissance électrique sans être détruit : soit par décollage du fil du support de bobine, ou par combustion du vernis isolant dudit fil. C’est en pratique une limite thermique. Un haut-parleur puissant n’est pas de meilleur qualité, il est simplement plus solide… un pneu de camion gonflé à 8,2 bars ne tient pas mieux la route qu’un pneu de moto gonflé à 2 bars. Cette puissance est exprimée en Watt AES, car les conditions de mesures sont très précisément établies dans une norme, actuellement la norme AES2-1984 (r2003).

Toutes les unités de puissance : crête, impulsionnelle, musicale, moyenne, Peak Music Power… n’ont pas de significations. Les normes DIN et IEC ne sont plus utilisées.

 

Le niveau sonore maximal, ou dBspl Max, est uniquement lié au volume d’air déplacé à une fréquence donnée. Ce volume se déduit de la surface de la membrane Sd et du débattement possible Xmax du haut-parleur. Un grand large-bande de 21cm au débattement de 2mm délivrera plus de pression, et donc « jouera » plus fort, qu’un 13cm de grave avec 5mm de déplacement.

 

La distorsion d’un haut-parleur est causée par les nombreuses non linéarités en son sein : force du moteur Bl, inductance de la bobine Le, souplesse de la suspension Cms sont non linéaires et parfois asymétriques suivant l’intensité du courant (i) qui traverse la bobine et sa position (x) dans l’entrefer. Tout ceci demande une étude attentive de chaque élément constitutif d’un haut-parleur.

Toutes choses égales par ailleurs, la distorsion est plus élevée lorsque le débattement augmente. Bien entendu, à débattement égal, un haut-parleur bien conçu voit sa distorsion réduite.

 

Le concept de large-bande.

La majorité des enceintes sur le marché use d’une configuration multi-voies, séparant les fréquences entre différents haut-parleurs spécialisés via des filtres passifs. Lesdits filtres ont, déjà en théorie, de multiples défauts, accentués en pratique par les défauts des composants électroniques le constituant.

Historiquement le premier haut-parleur était utilisé en « large-bande » : sans filtre, bien que sa réponse n’était pas large-bande mais plutôt médium, il ne servait qu’à écouter la voix.

La radiophonie évoluant, les haut-parleurs s’affinèrent dans leur restitution et élargirent leur bande passante.

Ce n’est que plus tard, lorsque les niveaux acoustiques demandés augmentèrent, que les haut-parleurs se spécialisèrent. Les contraintes techniques imposées pour la restitution d’un large spectre, ne sont pas compatibles avec une utilisation en concert du Hell Fest.

Dans une utilisation domestique, un haut-parleur large-bande de qualité saura tirer profit de l’absence de filtre.

C’est un savoir-faire que Supravox a su garder, transmettre et faire perdurer.

 

Les cônes tout papier.

Chez Supravox les membranes de nos haut-parleurs large bande sont intégralement en papier, du collage de la bobine jusqu’à la suspension. Il en fut ainsi dès la conception du premier haut-parleur électro-dynamique.

Le papier de par sa structure homogène, mais aléatoire, dans la répartition et l’orientation des fibres, apporte un comportement rigidité / amortissement interne homogène sur toute la bande passante. La conception précise d’une membrane, son profil, son épaisseur, va définir sa réponse : étendue et sans accidents. La formulation de la pâte à papier va apporter la « transparence » sonore au haut-parleur. Le traitement spécifique de la suspension externe en papier, nous permet de contrôler la réponse en fréquences et le son du haut-parleur.

Nous utilisons les mêmes membranes exponentielles, issues des mêmes moules, avec le même papier depuis les développements de M. Liebert sur les larges bande dans les années 40.

Nos haut-parleurs sont parfois associés à un dôme ou un bi-cône. Un dôme très rigide, traité à cet effet, collé directement sur le support de bobine va permettre d’étendre la réponse d’un haut-parleur au-delà de 12-15kHz. Le bicône, qui par sa forme et sa surface agit comme un second haut-parleur plus petit, va apporter beaucoup d’énergie dès 4 kHz.

Le choix se fait lors de la conception et la mise au moins minutieuse de chaque hautparleur.

 

Quels aimants ?

Un aimant, quelle que soit sa technologie, est avant tout une source permanente d’énergie magnétique. Cependant, comme tout élément terrestre, rien n’est parfait. Tout aimant est caractérisé par quatre principaux comportements :

– Sa rémanence, ou sa capacité à conserver un champ permanent plus ou moins élevé.
– Sa coercivité qui est sa capacité à résister aux champs extérieurs opposés qui tendent à le désaimanter.
– Sa température maximale d’utilisation.
– Son coefficient de température, qui indique sa perte de champ réversible avec l’augmentation de la température d’utilisation.

Malheureusement aucun aimant n’est excellent en tous points, et à cela s’ajoute leur prix de revient.

L’aimant en ferrite est le moins cher, sa rémanence est bonne, sa coercivité élevée, une température d’utilisation confortable de 225°C, mais le moins bon coefficient de température de tous.

Le néodyme (ou neodymium en anglais) est cher, avec une rémanence et une coercivité très élevée, un coefficient de température correct, mais une température d’utilisation faible de 80°C pour les grades standards.

L’Alnico, un des alliages les plus anciens avec le Ticonal, offre une rémanence élevée,un coefficient de température quasiment parfait, une température d’usage très élevée de 450°C, mais une coercivité faible pour les grades anciens et usuels. C’est un très bon aimant, très cher, qui demande un peu d’attention dans la conception du moteur pour le stabiliser.

Une dernière source de champ magnétique est la bobine d’excitation. Dans ce montage l’aimant est remplacé par une bobine, qui sous l’action du courant qui la traverse génère un champ magnétique qui lui est proportionnel, c’est : l’induction. Si l’alimentation de la bobine est asservie en courant, alors le champ dans l’entrefer est invariablement stable.

 

Niveau d’écoute, rendement et puissance.

Nous avons vu que le niveau sonore d’écoute n’est lié qu’au déplacement du haut-parleur multiplié par sa surface. Nous avons noté également qu’un haut-parleur de rendement plus élevé demande moins de puissance pour le même niveau sonore.

Or la puissance dissipée dans la bobine en augmente sa résistance proportionnellement à l’augmentation de sa température, ce qui diminue le rendement du haut-parleur via la chute du courant traversant la bobine, l’amplificateur l’alimentant en tension i=U/Re. C’est ce que nous appelons la compression thermique.

Par ailleurs qui dit plus de puissance, dit plus de composants dans le circuit électronique, plus de dissipation dans ceux-ci, plus de non linéarités thermiques et électriques et donc de distorsions. Si nous pouvons nous contenter de peu de puissance, nous pouvons nous orienter vers des circuits simples, efficaces, voir en classe A, plus linéaire, à la distorsion réduite et à la musicalité reconnue.

Nous voyons bien qu’un haut-parleur de haute sensibilité induit indirectement moins de distorsions à l’usage, y compris dans les électroniques associées.

 

CONCLUSIONS

De ce laïus il vous faut retenir trois notions primordiales quant au choix de ses haut-parleurs :
– La puissance admissible d’un haut-parleur ne révèle rien de ses qualités.
– Les qualités subjectives d’un large-bande sont intimement liées au papier et au profil de la membrane utilisée. C’est un savoir-faire rare et précieux.
– Un haut-parleur de sensibilité élevé autorise l’usage d’amplificateur de petite puissance, à transistors ou à tubes, intrinsèquement plus linéaires et donc plus musicaux.